top of page

Charitable Trusts and Incorporated Associations

Charitable trusts are trusts set up to hold money or assets and carry out activities for the benefit of the community. In Australia, five main types of charitable trusts exist:

  • Australian charitable trust

  • General charitable trust

  • Prescribed charitable trust

  • Deductible gift recipient

  • Prescribed private fund

Each type of charitable trust brings with it different requirements and benefits. At Jamiesons Chartered Accountants we know the practicalities of charitable trusts. We are able to assist you by:

  • Preparing the trust deed

  • Applying to the ATO for an ABN

  • Organising tax exemptions where applicable

Most importantly, our experiences enables us to ensure that your trust is used to effectively reach your charitable goals.

An Incorporated Association may also be the way to go.
You would then have to register as a charity in Queensland and, to operate in other States, apply to ASIC to be a Registered Australian Body.



bottom of page